• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

2 Questions....

Hey guys,
I have a few questions I hope you can answer. I was wondering what lighting conditions you grow your pubescens in? Do you put them in full sun or a partly shaded area?
Also, I was wondering if you remove the lower leaves from plants you decide to bury deeper? Or do you bury the stem and lower leaves?

This is my first year growing peppers AND growing anything from see so I read a LOT before I got started. As far as lights I don't have a south facing window so I setup a makesift growing container that I put next to my patio so I can not only get light from outside, but also extra light from my CF setup. I have 2 96w tubes that are in a single light case that I have mounted on top of a large box. I basically just drilled a couple of holes and used hanger to suspend the box over the seeds. This way that get a LOT of light and still have the light from outside as well. Here is the article that I used to help me get started.
http://davesgarden.com/guides/articles/view/464/

Ohh sorry for not being specific, but the article says MORE LIGHT and to bury the stems deeper. Not sure if it's exact, but since this is my first year I hope they work out right!

I appreciate the info LGHT but I was refering specifically to pubescens being outdoors. It has been mentioned that pubescens prefer cooler growing environments that is why I was wondering if people put them in partial shade. Dave mentions burying the plants deeper but doesn't seem to address my leaf removal question. Thanks for the link though.

Josh...I can't answer the pubescens question, but I take the lower leaves off the seedlings when I transplant them....and if any leaves are touching the soil after transplant, I remove them too...I don't want the leaves touching the soil...