• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

First Shot at Growing

This is my first attempt at growing anything, but since my g/f and I regularly use 2-3 serrano's a night I figured I'd give it a shot. I've started with:

Orange Habenaro (Chinense)
Cayenne Long Red
Demon Red
Indian Red (is this the same as Cayenne?)
Anaheim
Cherry Red Hot
Jalapeno M
Hungarian Yellow Hot
Super Chili
Serrano's.

I have the following seeds on order and have JUST received an e-mail telling me they've shipped!

Camino Real
Ancho Real
El Jefe
Ring Of Fire
Chili Grande

I'm in a northern climate and have a green house, but I am hoping that I can cultivate a few indoors. Basically the only ones I'm thinking of right now are the little Demon Red's and Cherry Red Hot's. Either way, this is my little makeshift set up.

chilis005.jpg

Here's what I've been able to grow so far. I put them out to get an hour or so of direct sun light. Too bad the sky clouded over within 45 minutes though.

chilis006.jpg

Super Chili

chilis007.jpg

I'm not using anything special right now. I started the seeds in mini-heated peat greenhouse until they sprouted. Once the roots started to poke out the sides I transplanted them to 4" pots and used Moisture Plus soil that has a .08-.12-.08 fertilizer content. I have the fluorescent lights on a timer set to turn on a 6am and off at 10 pm. I also have some old glossy white posters that I drape over the sides to reflect more light onto the plants. I'm not sure if tin foil would work better, but I have been getting fairly good results so far.

Neil

Nice looking setup you've got there. It won't be long before you're wanting a larger area. ;)
How do you water them without it dripping down on the lights below?