• This is the place to discuss all spicy commerical products, not just sauce!

hot-sauce Fruit based sauce question

I have looked at lots of sites on the net with lots of sauce recipes listed on them.

I also Home brew and im good at that. I look at the recipes on the net and think..... what are they thinking.... yuck! Most will be totally unballanced and not so good.

I am not very experienced at making chilli sauce but im getting there with the tomatoe based hot sauce and i have a sweet chilli sauce dowm pat.

I want to make a fruit based sauce with lots of orange habs, mango, bannana and some lime!.

My question is, do i use all fruit with the chilli (expensive at $2.50 a mango) or can they be beefed up with some tomatoe.

also should i use vinigar in these suaces.

any help will be apreciated.

cheers

is there any rate ?! you can use for lime juice ex: 1cup of solid stock (pepper,fruit,spice) for 1/4cup lime juice ..or is there a cheap way to chec the ph ?

I wouldn't mix tomato with the mango.

Mango will go a pretty long way on it's own, they are big and have lots of flesh. I wouldn't cut it. It would defeat the purpose IMHO.

We have mango in our Island sauce & I would use as much mango as possible. You can purchase mango puree or frozen mango chunks & use. It is truly a magical fruit. Works well with habanero's, scotch bonnets or any of the chiles from the islands. Good luck.

Mick
Kato's

Thanks for the advice folks....... its putting a picture in my head of how im going to make this!

Im thinking 1 hab/mango with some bananna for texture and mix of lemon, lime and fruit juice..... maybe apple.

What is the best pH to aim for......i have a proper pH meter and calibration buffers i use for my Home brew.... even a refrectometer to tell me sugar content!

cheers

maybe add the mango later in the cooking too, if you cook it too hard it will loose its punch.
Careful with the banana it may discolour? (just guessing)