• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

sun Picking and Drying in the Sun

I'm merrily harvesting mostly orange Habaneros and some Costa Rican reds.
My question is: What is the best time of day to harvest pods?
Second question: When sun drying on a bamboo drying basket, should the pods be turned? Or not? I'm drying whole pods, stem and all.
Cheers.

I've never tried it before, but was curious, so Google'd "sun drying" and got a number of results. Some recommend occassionally turning, some don't mention turning at all. I would think it would depend upon your environment - if it's very dry all the time, and the pods are sufficiently raised and have good circulation both above and below, turning is probably less of an issue than in other conditions.

Ajarn, I experimented with this last season and didnt get a great result. Due to the humidity up here as well Im guessing.
One thing that did work, but IS a little time consuming was to make a 'ristra'.
That way the are getting a constant breeze around them and reduced deterioration to nearly zero.

Yeah - pretty much everything I read indicates that if you're in a humid environment, using a dehydrator is the best method.

Here's one way, tho' I didnt decorate it with corn husks :lol:

http://www.ehow.com/how_2387491_make-ristra.html

Thanks for your replies. Here's what I'm trying;

PodsinKradong.jpg

It's called a kradong. Just a few pods to see if it works. The rista is a great option if this doesn't work well. It's sunny and hot today, but it is the rainy season, so humidity may compromise the drying.
Cheers.

EDIT: Then there are the natural pests;

BirdscanbeRude.jpg

That should fix'em!

just lost a couple of ripe labuyo pods to birds today. I don't mind, those are a dime a dozen. lol. but if those were my other peppers, that would be another story.