• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

Thai Chili Peppers/Papaya Salad

I am addicted to papaya salad and want to grow thai peppers for this dish. I want to stay authentic as possible. Is there a specific thai chili I should get? I live in Minnesota so my options may be limited but I know I have seen thai chilis at local markets. Anyone have tips for a first time grower? Also once picked do they stay well frozen? thanks.

i can only say that if you feeze them, they should be ok for future cooking with them..lol

as far as what kind of peppers to choose..sorry..

Thanks for the replies. I haven't used crabs yet as that is more of the Laos method. I'm kind of wary to use seeds as I am a rookie gardner and think it would be alot easier to buy a started plant. The only issue with getting a plant around here is that the peppers might be mild.

I just called my local nursery and they said the thai pepper they had was the super chili. Guess i'm not sure which one that is.

I've found a chile at my local nursery called simply "Thai Hot" that was exactly like the Rat-Turd chile. Compact bushy plant that produced all summer, around 75-100 chiles, about the size of... well... a rat turd. Pods were born erect and ripened from green to red.

This was all in a 1 gallon terra cotta pot. Woulda loved to have seen that plant if I'd put it in the ground.

The chiles were nice and hot, dried fast when strung, and made great Panang curry paste. Also made great little fireball snacks while gardening.

Look for this variety at a local nursery. Just don't expect to find it at lowes or wally-world.

Good luck!

Super chili has a nice heat, not quite the same as thai which really have some authority but the supers are good. Where in MN are you? I am growing several thai peppers. I'm lower sw between Mankato and Worthington. Several members are from up around the cities.