• Everything other than hot peppers. Questions, discussion, and grow logs. Cannabis grow pics are only allowed when posted from a legal juridstiction.

Favorite eggplants varieties to grow?

I'm thinking of growing some eggplant again this coming year and can't decide what type to start. I've grow tiny ones, long ones, and fat ones but haven't eaten enough yet to know what I like best. What do y'all like for flavor and/or productivity? Are certain types of eggplant better in different dishes?

Hey man, what do you plan to do with them? Stir fry, baked Italian dishes, Middle Eastern? I've tried all kinds.

I'd like to know what types are best for different dishes.
I'm new to eating eggplant, so far I've only attempted eggplant parmigiana once and I think my technique needs improvement:( I've also made baba ganoush but that was many years ago.
When it comes to eggplant, I'm more of a grower than an eater but I'm hoping to experiment and learn more.

I like the regular purple eggplants, for egglant parmagiana you have to slice it thin, maybe 1/4". If you slice it thick it doesn't taste as good. Try the regular ones (whatever they're called) and slice it thin, and layer the dish like lasagna. I also like Thai eggplants. Stir fry, etc. Sicilian eggplants have too many seeds. They may have another name, they are round, ribbed, and reddish purple and white, and sell as Sicilian around here. Don't get those. I don't like the Japanese or Chinese eggplants very much they cook up mushy and don't have that distinct eggplant taste that makes the regular (still don't know the name) ones taste so good. Hope this helps. I say regular, and Thai.

japanese egg plant is great pan fried with just a little bacon grease, just enough to coat the pan. serve with jalapeno/ranch dressing it is great!!But it must be almost dry fried not greasy fried.

I think I'll see if I have seeds for a regular purple type.