• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

flavor Hot Pepper Taste, and my introduction

Hey Everyone!

I just signed up for this forum, because I love hot peppers, too. My favorites are mostly cultivars of c. chinense. This year I have about fourteen different varieties growing, but only 2 plants are chinense cultivars.

About hot pepper taste - most peppers seem to have only a little "green" pepper flavor along with varying levels of heat. This is my first year of growing peppers, and I grew so many to hopefully experience a lot of flavors. Unfortunately, none of them compare to the Datil peppers that I am growing this year! Those things instantly became my favorite, at least so far. Here's the list of what I have:

firecracker
charleston
bolivian rainbow
pumpkin habanero
datil
tabasco
jalapeno m
ammazzo
poblano
barney
pimento
Tohono O'odham chiletepin
thai sun
brazilian starfish

Jalapenos always taste great, along with the pimento as a nice alternative to bell peppers, and you can't go wrong with poblanos. Everything else has varying degrees of heat, but not a whole lot of unique flavor. Have the rest of you experienced this? I would love some recommendations for peppers with unique flavor, whether chinense or anything else. Next year, I may just concentrate on datil, fatalii, and devil's tongue. If I am feeling extra adventurous, I will try naga jolokia or some other naga.

I'm growing Datils and Super Datils too this year. They should be ripe in a couple weeks. Now I can't wait to taste them.

I grew Brazilian Starfish last year and it was the best tasting peppers I ever had. It started off with an intense fruity sweet flavor and had a creeping medium heat. Almost a dessert pepper.

I tried some of these before they were fully ripe, so I will wait until I have some really ripe ones before forming my opinion totally. Tabasco are supposed to have a lot of flavor, from what I have heard.