• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

favorite Favorite seasoning peppers.

So I'm new to the wonderful world of peppers (besides the run of the mill jalapenos, bells etc) and I'm looking to order some plants form a site called chileplants and I was wondering what people's favorite seasoning peppers are.

I like to cook Mexican and Indian foods but as yet I'm kind of a heat wusseh so I thought I'd start mild and work my way up.

Tell me oh gods of chile's, what should I buy.

Jalapeno is my goto. Great flavor, and as a seasoning (powder I assume) you can vary the heat.

7 POT is wonderful also, but not for the meek.

Homegrown paprika is WAYYYY better than storebought. Worth the trouble.

My favorite pepper for powder is texas chile pequin. Such a wonderful taste. Only problem is they are tiny so you need hundreds upon hundreds of them.....But luckily one large plant will provide you with more than that :)

I use it on EVERYTHING. Probably my favorite use so far is mixed with alfredo sauce on pasta. Holy crap.

Oh yeah, I have like a thousand seeds from my plant should anyone want them. Sucker is going on like its 5th or 6th year.

cheezydemon said:
Jalapeno is my goto. Great flavor, and as a seasoning (powder I assume) you can vary the heat.

7 POT is wonderful also, but not for the meek.

Homegrown paprika is WAYYYY better than storebought. Worth the trouble.

I'll try a paprika.

I was actually wanting good peppers for making sauces and such.

Some for sofrito:

1. 3 bags garlic (peeled)

2. 2 packages of recaito

3. 2 packages of culantro

4. 3 large red onions

5. 3 red bell peppers

6. 3 green peppers

7. 1 bag of ajices (dulces not spicy)

Blend everything in a food processer or blender ad a cooking spoon of cooking oil.And just blend, place in microwaveable plastic bowl's(like the one from the chinese places) and freeze and when you are ready to use just defrost in the microwave.